IBAC 2009






Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian
Ordem dos Biólogos

Instituto Superior de Psicologia Aplicada
Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa

Meeting information

The XXII meeting of the International Bioacoustics Council (IBAC) will be held Monday September 14 until Friday September 18 at the Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian.


Following the tradition established over 35 years ago, the IBAC meeting fosters interactions among scientists interested in the factors that regulate sound production in animals. Moreover, IBAC meetings aim to bring together, in informal settings, biologists from different specialists (ethologists, physiologists, taxonomists, etc) with engineers, sound archivists and amateur sound recordists, to foster discussion and exchange of ideas.

The scientific program will be composed of sessions of invited speakers integrated with contributed short talks and poster presentations.

Scientific programme
Download the FINAL programme and the list of poster communications.

Invited speakers
Carl Gerhardt (University of Missouri, Columbia)
"Evolution of acoustic communication"

Michael Fine (Virginia Commonwealth University)
"Mechanisms of fish sound production"

Joseph Sisneros (University of Washington)
"Adaptive auditory plasticity for social communication"

Axel Michelsen (University of Southern Denmark)
"Directional hearing and strategies for sound communication"

Peter McGregor (Cornwall College)
"Applying bioacoustics: interactions between pure and applied research"

Social Programme
Information on the social dinner and excursion can be found here.


IBAC T-Shirts
IBAC '09 T-Shirts will be available and can be ordered at the conference venue.



Scientific committee
Clara Amorim (Portugal), Paulo Fonseca (Portugal), Paulo Gama (Portugal), Peter Narins (USA), Axel Michelsen (Denmark), Thierry Aubin (France), Gianni Pavan (Italy), Friedrich Ladich (Austria), Richard Ranft (UK), Rafael Marquez (Spain), Matija Gogala (Slovenia), Maria Luisa da Silva (Brazil).

Organizing committee
Paulo Fonseca, Clara Amorim, Raquel Vasconcelos, Joana Jordão, José Miguel Simões, Ricardo Mendes, Silvia Pedroso, Daniel Alves, Andreia Ramos.